US : Joe Biden nominates ambassadors to nine countries, but not to Morocco

Estimated read time: 1'

The White House released, Thursday, the first list of new ambassadors proposed by President Joe Biden. The United States Senate Committee on Foreign Relations will soon examine these nominations. The list includes Senegal, Angola, Cameroon, Somalia, the Congo and Algeria.  

For Algeria, the Department of State nominated Ms. Elizabeth Moore Aubin. Under Obama's mandate, Washington had also appointed a woman as an ambassador to Algiers, in the person of Mrs. Joan A. Polaschik. 

The post has been vacant since the end of John Desrocher's mission on August 19, 2020. The diplomat then joined David Shencker's team responsible for overseeing the negotiations between Lebanon and Israel on the delimitation of their maritime borders.

The list revealed by the White House does not include Morocco. Former Ambassador David Fischer left Morocco on January 19, a day before Joe Biden's inauguration ceremony.  

For the record, the Trump administration had given priority to Algeria in the appointment of its ambassador. John Desrocher took up residence in Algiers in June 2017 while David Fischer had only joined Morocco on January 20, 2020.

Be the first one to comment on our articles...