Flash News

Morocco and 17 countries to be exempt from visa requirements to visit Far East Russia

Karyaksky volcano over the town of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky in the Kamchatka region Far-Eastern Russia./Ph. Yuri Smityuk/ Tass
Estimated read time: 1'

Tourists and businessmen from 18 countries will finally be able to explore the beauty of the Russian Far East without a visa. The information was confirmed yesterday 17th of April by Russian Prime Minister Dmitri Medvedev and reported by Russian news agency Tass.

«I have recently approved the list of countries, whose nationals can take advantage of the preferential regime. Businessmen and tourists will not need to undergo the traditional procedure of Russian visas receipt.»

The list of the 18 countries includes Morocco along with Algeria, Bahrain, Brunei, India, Iran, Qatar, China, North Korea, Kuwait, Mexico, EAU, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Tunisia, Turkey and Japan.

Russia offered these countries a chance to visit the farthest part of its land located between Lake Baikal and the Pacific Ocean based on a reciprocity policy. «This is not because these states are situated at a closer or longer distance - we are appropriately introducing bilateral agreements on visa-free travel for those ready to use such an approach for us», the Russian Prime minister added.

Tourists will have to sign up for the visa-free travel on a website dedicated to the new project that will boost the economy of the region and create business opportunities.

Be the first one to comment on our articles...