Morocco imposes a travel ban to and from several cities

Estimated read time: 1'

The Interior and Health ministries announced, Sunday, a travel ban to and from Tangier, Tetouan, Fez, Meknès, Casablanca, Berrechid, Settat and Marrakech.

In a joint statement, the two ministries indicated that the decision is based on the significant increase in the number of coronavirus infections and the epidemiological situation in the country.

The ban enters into force starting from Sunday, July 26, at midnight.

The ban excludes people suffering from urgent health problems and people working in the public and private sector who have to travel as part of their duties. They, however, have to have exceptional travel authorizations, issued by the public authorities, when traveling.

According to the two ministries, the ban was implemented as a response to the lack of respect by a majority of citizens for the preventive measures, such as social distancing, the use of face masks and hand sanitizers. 

Be the first one to comment on our articles...