AU : Morocco and the Polisario join the African Continental Free Trade Area

Estimated read time: 1'

Morocco signed on Wednesday an agreement that will launch the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA), at the Extraordinary Summit of the African Union (AU) held in Kigali.

The agreement was signed by Head of Government, Saad Eddine El Othmani, who leads the Moroccan delegation to the AU Summit.

Speaking at the opening of the summit, AU Commission chairperson, Moussa Faki Mahamat, urged African heads of State and Government to sign this landmark agreement.

The Free Trade Area will result in the establishment of a market of over one billion two hundred million people, with a combined gross product of over three trillion dollars.

The Polisario leader also signed the AfCFTA agreement. 42 members of the African Union, out of a total of 55, have joined the Free Trade Area.

The AfCFTA is a flagship project of Agenda 2063, the African Union’s long-term vision for an integrated, prosperous and peaceful Africa.

Be the first one to comment on our articles...